Bobby Sox 50′s Diner

Me and "Jazzy" on our Maple Ridge adventure

Last Sunday, we decided to go on a little adventure to a far off land called Maple Ridge.  I think I’ve driven through Maple Ridge once before, so I thought it wouldn’t be a bad idea to go check it out again.   We decided to hop in the hybrid, go on a little drive and experience the Ridge in all her glory.  “Jazzy” and “Monk” were up for the adventure and before long we were feeling some hunger pains.  Not having any clue as to where to eat, I did a quick google on the iPhone and we ended up at Bobby Sox 50′s Diner. [22596 Lougheed Highway, Maple Ridge, (604) 467-9290]  As the GPS guided us to our destination, I caught sight of the diner and loved the nostalgic appeal of it right away.   

I’ve got to admit, I’ve got a real soft spot for diners and  I don’t know exactly why.  I didn’t do a lot of diner dining in my youth, but in my mid teens to early twenties,  I became a real diner aficionado.  Over the years, I’ve been on hundreds of road trips through small towns in North America, trucking our way to ski races, secret fishing holes, cottage weekends and long weekend benders.  One constant in all my road tripping is that every town has a greasy spoon diner and it’s almost always where the locals gather to get a decent meal.  What’s good for the goose is good for the gander, so diners in general became a natural choice for me.

"Jazzy" and some good ole diner grub.

When we walked in, it looked like a classic 50′s diner.  Old school decor, lots of memorabilia and almost every seat was full, except for one booth.  We couldn’t fit “Jazzy’s” car seat into the banquette, so a friendly local guy offered to switch booths with us, so that we could make it work.  We settled in, sipped some below average coffee,  looked at the menu and instantly I felt right at home.   I loved the blue plate specials, offering up meatloaf, fried chicken, Salisbury steak, all the usual suspects, at a very fair price.  Since it was only 10:30am, I decided to have the hungry man breakfast.  3 eggs, 2 bacon, 2 sausage, ham, hash browns and toast.  “Monk” ordered a club sandwich and we were off to the races.

The food arrived in a hurry.  Everything was cooked fine, tasted good and lived up to my expectations in every way.  Was it special or great in any way?  No, but it was a good greasy breakfast and the kind of place I look for each time I’m in a new town.  It totally hit the spot and I would definitely go back again if I was in the area.  Issue and concerns; apart from the teenage rednecks with a newborn baby that took 4 smoke breaks during their meal and the less than perfect bathroom facilities, everything was just fine and dandy with me.  The food was decent, the service was decent, the decor was outstanding and my love affair with diners continues.  We ended up having a great day in the Ridge, checked out some cool waterfalls and parks, all fueled by our hearty breakfast at Bobby Sox 50′s Diner.

On my chef’s night out scale, Bobby Sox 50′s Diner receives 2.5/5  SOB(slices of bacon).

Bobby Sox 50's Diner on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

