Viet Sub Vietnamese Cuisine

After a big day of eating, “Godfather” thought we needed a little snack to end a fantastic night.  Even though we had a very tasty and significant dinner a few hours earlier, he suggested we swing by Viet Sub Vietnamese Cuisine [542 Robson Street, Vancouver, (604) 569-3340] for a couple of late night sammies. “Monk”, “Jazzy”, “Godfather”, “The Girl” and I had just finished watching the Olympic fireworks/laser/pyro show at Robson Square, my buzz was slowly wearing off and the desire to snack was ever-growing.  We were very fortunate to have the opportunity to watch the show from the panoramic view of the roof bar of Hotel Vancouver.  It was such a great perspective of the city and the Vegas-esque show and I was so glad to not have to fight the crowds.   It’s such a shame that the roof bar is not a functioning lounge anymore, because the view and the feel of the space is spectacular.   

Tasty Bahn Mi @ Viet Sub

 

I’d been to Viet Sub a few times in the past and first heard of it a couple months back when an ex-Fillipino/Scottish server told me about it.  I’ve loved banh mi (Vietnamese sandwiches) for a long time and have tried just about every shop in town.  “Monk” is the true banh mi aficionado and we once went on a Vietnamese sandwich tour of the lower mainland.   I believe we sampled close to a dozen different sandwiches in a span of a just a few hours, all in the name of science.  She was conducting some research and was considering opening her own  modern, yet traditional, Vietnamese sandwich shop.  We tend to sample these sandwiches everywhere we visit and we definitely ate our fair share on our epic trip to Vietnam in 2007.  

On this particular night, “Godfather” ordered 2 special subs (B5).  “Monk” was giving him the “ole’ pink stink eye” because he was encouraging me to eat late at night, but I was really kinda excited for a tasty treat.  A few minutes later, “Godfather” handed me a sandwich, I took my first bite and I was not disappointed.  The perfect bread with the tasty fillings  was very enjoyable on this particular night.  I don’t know if it was the beer and cocktails talking, but I thought it was really tasty.  The bread was exceptional and the freshness of the sandwich was ideal.  In the past, “Monk” has grabbed a few sandwiches to go and I never thought too much about them.  I thought they were alright, but because I never ate them right away, there was not too much wow factor.  This time around, I was really blown away and was so glad we stopped. 

Issue and concerns;  I have my own Vietnamese restaurant prejudices, but heck, I’ve eaten so much street food in Vietnam, nothing should bother me.  I’ve never been inside the restaurant and have always let “Monk” or “Godfather” take care of the ordering.  Through the front window, I thought the restaurant looked a little hodge podge, but it is, what it is.  “Godfather” felt the pickled daikon and carrot could use more pickling, but I was ok with it.  I would have liked a little more meat on my sandwich, but overall it was pretty darn tasty and for $3.75, not much can beat it.  I look forward to trying some of the other sandwiches in the very near future and will try to offer an alcohol free opinion. 

On my chef’s night out scale, Viet Sub Vietnamese Cuisine receives 3/5 SOB (slices of bacon). 

Viet Sub Vietnamese Cuisine on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

