Crepes

What is it about crepes that people love?  I guess it’s not an item people would make at home too often.  I guess it requires some technique, but it’s not exactly rocket science either.  It’s flour, eggs, milk and water; mix them together and pour into a hottish pan.  Wallllah! 

Crepes. What's the big fuss?

“Monk” loves crepes.  I have no idea why, but she does.  When we used to live in the West End, there was a restaurant called La  Bretagne Creperie that she truly adored.  Since it was her birthday week, she requested crepes and being a good husband, I acquiesced.  I don’t know why I’m not fond of crepes, I don’t mind them, I just don’t go ga-ga for them.   “Godfather” helped me out and  threw together a simple crepe batter for me the day before.  Being the organizational freak that I am, I also put together  the “mise en place”  for the crepes I was making for the next day’s lunch. 

First we had a crepe with duck leg confit, chanterelles, double smoked bacon and a fried chicken egg.  Not exactly light fare, but very tasty.  The runny egg yolk is nature’s best sauce.  Everything is better with a fried egg on top.  I liked the filling a lot, so did “Monk”.   Her complaint was the crepes were a touch eggy and not crispy enough.  She was right on both counts, but I also never claimed to be a crepe master.  Next, we had a crepe with a Provencal lamb shank ragout.  Olives, capers, tomato, anchovy and some braised lamb.  The filling was very rich and perfect for a rainy and cool November day.   For dessert, we had a couple of lemon and sugar crepes to finish the multi-course crepe meal.   “So simple, so delicious.” 

Well that’s it for crepes.  I don’t think I’ll be making them at home for a while.  Maybe not till November 2010.   When I go back to Tapenade on Wednesday, I’ve got a special assignment for “Fat Joel,” to help me develop a new seafood crepe for the January lunch menu.  I can hear his excitement, all the way from the man cave in Coquitlam.

One thought on “Crepes

  1. Biggups! Awesome dudes!!! EVen tho you are using my lines, I love it. You are a pretty decent writer, and your grasp of the english language is one I’ve yet to encounter in any kitchen.

    Im guessing Monk is Lynn…and I remember that Crepe place. Many a good hangover breakfast have I spent when I lived down there.

    This is my first blog reading, and I cant wait to read the previous, and all the ones to follow.

    CAke Boss!!

    Fat Joel out

Leave a Reply

