Recent Updates

Sorry.  I know it’s been a while since my last update. I wish I could say that I’ve been travelling the world and eating at 3 star Michelin restaurants, but that is not the case at all.  In fact, it’s been a lot of “business as usual” and just getting my proverbial ducks in a row.  There’s been lots of pre-Olympic planning with “Sales Mix” and I’ve been spending as much time as I can with “Jazzy” and “Monk”.

Vacherin Mont-D'Or, one of the world's finest cheeses!

I’ve had a few food highlights and lowlights from the past few weeks;  inquiring minds want to know?   Well, let me tell you a little about them.  “Godfather” and “The Girl” came over to the house a few weeks back  and we had a seafood feast.  As good as dinner was, the real star of the show was a baked Vacherin Mont D’or.  I baked a Vacherin du Jura during the holidays in Toronto, but this was the real deal.   The “Benton Boys” had a few pieces left at the shop, so I asked them to bring me one for this special dinner.   I served it with a mushroom pine nut raisin agro dolce,  Bartlett pear and crusty potato baguette.  To drink, we luxuriously enjoyed a 2004 Chateau Lynch Bages.  It’s a Grand Cru Bordeaux and I was just itching to find the right opportunity to drink it.  Vacherin Mont D’or pairs exceptionally well with many different wines; it’s really a matter of taste and depends on which elements of the cheese you wish to highlight.  As a rule, I tend to serve the wines and cheeses of the same region, but in this particular case, I had a good feeling that this cheese and this wine were going to be a match made in heaven.  Enough said, it was perfect.  If you get a chance to try some Vacherin next winter, make sure you do and while you’re at it, drink lots of Bordeaux!

Another food highlight was the recent Orofino wine dinner at Tapenade.  It was a sold out success.   The food was very nice, the wine was outstanding and overall it was just a great night of food and wine.  It was a pleasure to meet John and Virginia from Orofino and it was my pleasure to pair our food with their award-winning wines.  The 2007 Beleza is incredible, will age extremely well yet paired perfectly with the venison dish we made.  We sous-vided the venison loin and served it with a butternut squash puree, housemade choucroute, fried brussel sprout leaves and a sauce of reduced Beleza, venison stock and rosemary.  The boys in the kitchen did an outstanding job and the service went off flawlessly.  I’m glad all our guests enjoyed themselves and I am looking forward to our next wine dinner.

The Baconator! Outstanding!

I’m a little ashamed to be writing about this but, I’ve just got to.  I finished a meeting last week at Hill’s Foods and they sent me back to the restaurant with some gorgeous venison loins and a bunch of special wild game samples.   Unfortunately, I hadn’t eaten a thing that day and was famished.  There was a Wendy’s on my way to my next meeting, so I stopped and ordered the double baconator.  Yes, I know, it’s garbage junk food, I should be watching my weight and sodium and fat intake.  But damn!  Beef, bacon, process cheese!  Yum yum.  It makes me want to make a burger of my own.  I love burgers.   I’ve been talking to the boys about playing around with making our own “process cheese” so maybe we’ll be featuring a burger soon.  

A quick note on a recent hardware upgrade.  I recently retired my Blackberry 8100 and have switched to a shiny and new Apple iPhone 3Gs.  It’s taking a little getting used to, but so far so good.   The camera and video camera is very handy and is a higher resolution than the Blackberry.  Images should be much sharper and updates should be more frequent, thanks in part to the WordPress application built for iPhone.  Also, since everything is so handy and convenient, I will be updating the blog more often from the kitchen and will try and upload some pictures of the new dishes we’re working on.  Also, for you Twitter users, find me on twitter @alextung73, and I will be tweeting updates there  as well.  I know, I know, all this technology and gadgetry, who’s got time to cook?

Leave a Reply

