Go Go Go!

A lot of people keep asking me when I will update Chef’s Night Out.  Trust me, I really want to, but I’ve been so gosh darn busy.  I’ve been working like a madman recently and even logged 17 straight “open to close” days at the restaurant.   “Great Wall” got married, went off on a whirlwind Hawaiian honeymoon, so I’ve been towing the line and working tons at Tapenade.  The entire staff has been working lots as well and have been doing a fantastic job.  We’ve been super busy; our mid-week business had been very good, our weekends are busy as usual and we’ve had lots of special events.  We recently hosted Steveton’s “Wedding of the Year” celebrating “Tugboat Annie” and “Calamity Jane’s” union.  No, it was not a gay wedding between two women, “Tugboat Annie” is actually a 50-something year old foodie/oenophile male friend, who has been Tapenade’s and my greatest supporter for years.  What a great wedding that was; it was my honour/pleasure to cook their wedding and best wishes to one of my favorite couples.

What else is going on?  Well “Jazzy” turned one on July 24 and is really growing into a little lady.  She can read 50+ words, says “Dad” so clearly and lovingly, has been using the potty since she was a few months old, recently got her first bike, but still hasn’t started walking on her own.  “Monk” has recently returned to work, so schedules have changed and there is always tons of stuff to do at home.  “Sales Mix” has another son on the way and though I’ve always stressed “no unauthorized breeding” in regards to the expansion of his bloodline,  I wish him and his family the best of luck.

In the world of food, we’re in the middle of local sardine season and lots of guests have been asking me about how to deal with them.  Here’s a short video of how I fillet sardines at Tapenade.  While you’re at it, feel free to become a fan of Tapenade Bistro’s Facebook page.  http://bit.ly/bzAZDH  Local blueberries are in full effect and I have not been able to stop eating them.  I think I must of ate 2 pounds the other night ,while recuperating from another rock and roll dinner service, watching the newest episode of Entourage.  Tomatoes are great right now and there is an absolute abundance of exceptional local produce.  Go to your local farmer’s market and check it out for yourself.  I will be ordering some chanterelles from Vancouver Island next week and look forward to showcasing them in a nice feature.  I haven’t had good chanterelles since last year, so I’m very excited.

Even though I’ve been so busy, I’ve been eating out a little bit and recently had a really good experience at…..  The Cactus Club.  Yes, it’s true and I’ve loved everything Cactus Club for the past few weeks.  From $5 Bellinis, to super cool bathrooms, to charming and friendly service, to tasty Rob Feenie mini burgers, to their late night hours and its close proximity to our house; I’ve become a fan of everything Cactus Club.  I’m no haute cuisine snob and though it might seem out of character and contrary to my usual way of thinking, I’ve been counting down the days to my next visit to the Cactus Club.   Maybe if I find some time, I’ll write a quick blog about the joy of the Cactus Club.  We’ve also been eating out at a bunch of ethnic restaurants including Ki Sushi, Sushi California, Pho Thai Hoa and some other places I can’t or don’t want to remember.  Tonight, we’re ditching “Jazzy” with “Nuoc Mom” and we’re heading to Adesso Bistro for dinner.  I’ve been looking forward to visiting some old friends who run the kitchen there and look forward to a good meal and a nice bottle of wine.

Well that’s it for now.  Peace in the middle east and maybe I’ll write something else soon.  Until then, come by Tapenade for a visit (I’ll likely be there) and ask for me or “Sales Mix”.  We’d love to serve you.

One thought on “Go Go Go!

  1. It seems that even though you were busy and haven’t have time, you seems to be having fun. Internet are addicted though, and your blog keeps making me hungry even though I just ate xD Anyhow, I wish you the best of luck, and hoping to hear from you soon ~

Leave a Reply

